JAMS-SPONSORED EVENT

USC Gould Center for Dispute Resolution Fifth Annual Symposium - Bridging the Common and Civil Law Chasm (Webinar 1)

Presented by USC Gould School of Law and JAMS

CLE WEBINAR Credit: CA and NY CLE credit will be provided

Program Recording: LINK
Program Materials: LINK

USC Gould School of Law and JAMS are pleased to invite you to our Fifth Annual Symposium.

Our Annual International Arbitration Symposium for 2020 was postponed on account of the Covid-19 pandemic.  We offer, in its place, a series of three webinars covering the planned topics from last year.  Each will run about two hours and will be free to attendees.

We have added a networking session immediately following each webinar – each panelist will conduct a separate break-out session on a selected topic for about 45 minutes following the main program.  This is an opportunity to interact in smaller groups with our panelists and other attendees.

Additional Registration Links

Wednesday, April 14, 2021 - Webinar 2
The Arbitrator’s Approach to Contract Interpretation Issues: Civil vs. Common Law Perspectives
8:00 a.m. Pacific/11:00 a.m. Eastern/5:00 p.m. London/11:00 p.m. Singapore

Wednesday, May 19, 2021 - Webinar 3
International Mediation and the Singapore Convention – The Future of International Mediation
5:00 p.m. Pacific/8:00 p.m. Eastern/May 20 at 8:00 a.m. Singapore


Webinar 1 Agenda: Settlement Promotion by International Arbitrators – Convergence of Systems or the Eternal Divide?

March 17, 2021 at 8:00 a.m. Pacific/11:00 a.m. Eastern/4:00 p.m. London/11:00 p.m. Singapore

Moderated breakout sessions to follow panel presentations

               

Welcome and Opening Remarks

Richard Chernick, Mediator and Arbitrator, JAMS – Los Angeles, USA
Symposium Chair, Judith O. Hollinger ADR Advisory Board

 

Keynote and Second Annual Dorothy Nelson Lecture

Honoring Judge Dorothy Nelson, a Senior Judge of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, where she has served since 1979. She is the former dean of the Gould School of Law (1969-1979) and was a professor of law at the law school (1957-1979). Judge Nelson founded the Western Justice Center in 1987 and continues to be instrumental in its growth and considerable success. She is a true pioneer in the field of mediation and ADR.

Klaus Peter Berger, Arbitrator & Professor, University of Cologne – Cologne, Germany

 

Moderator

Nathan O’Malley, Partner & Head of International Litigation and Arbitration, Musick Peeler – Los Angeles

 

Panelists

Grant Kim, Partner, LimNexus – San Francisco, USA

Nhu-Hoang Tran Thang, Senior Associate, Peter & Kim - Geneva, Switzerland

Rogier Schellaars, Partner, Van Doorne – Amsterdam, Netherlands

Co-Chairs
Richard Chernick, Tina Cicchetti, Nathan O’Malley, Steven Sletten

Program Planning Committee

Jeffrey Benz, Richard Birke, Lorraine Brennan, Cedric Chao, Maria Chedid, Neva Cirkveni, Jeffery Daar, Jeff Dasteel, John Garman, David Huebner, Sherman Humphrey, Sun Ah Lee, Grant Kim, Daniel Kolkey, Katalin Meier, Howard Miller, Brian Peck, Charles Pereyra-Suarez, Richard Peterson, Peter Rosen, Jerry Roth, Ana Sambold, Steven Smith, Hon. Abraham D. Sofaer, and Katia Yannaca-Small

Gold Sponsors
Houston Hennigan
William B. Fitzgerald, Esq.

Silver Sponsor
Bird Marella
Charles G. Bakaly Esq.

Supporting Organizations
ADR Institute of Canada
ArbitralWomen
British Columbia International Commercial Arbitration Centre
California Dispute Resolution Council
California International Arbitration Counsel
California Lawyers Association, International Law Section
California Lawyers Association, Litigation Section
Charles G. Bakaly, Jr.
Charted Institute of Arbitrators (NA Branch)
College of Commercial Arbitrators
LACBA International Law Section
Northern California International Arbitration Club
Silicon Valley Arbitration & Mediation Centre
Western Canada Commercial Arbitration Society
USC Gould Center for Transnational Law and Business

Featured People

Lorraine M. Brennan, Esq.
  • Arbitration
  • Bankruptcy
  • Business/Commercial
  • Employment
  • Intellectual Property
  • International & Cross-Border
Richard Chernick, Esq.
  • Arbitration
  • Business/Commercial
  • Construction
  • Construction Defect
  • Cybersecurity & Privacy
  • Employment
  • Engineering and Construction
  • Entertainment and Sports
  • Federal Law
  • Governmental/Public Agency
  • Health Care
  • Insurance
  • Intellectual Property
  • Personal Injury/Torts
  • Real Property
  • Surety